Rail Campaigner of the Year

I am surprised and a little embarrassed to discover I have won Railfuture’s prestigous Rail Campaigner of the Year for 2021. The award, given to the individual who, in the opinion of the judging panel, has made an outstanding contribution to campaigning for better rail services in their local area, in addition to supporting Railfuture’s national campaign objectives, was announced at Railfuture’s AGM in Birmingham, but as I wasn’t able to be present in person a smaller ceremony was held at Bedlington Station with Railfuture’s Passenger Director Allison Cosgrove. Wendy Thorne, Railfuture’s Membership Director, said “the judging panel felt this year’s winner has shown remarkable persistence with over 15 years of campaigning, demonstrated the need to build a coalition of stakeholders, led a long-term campaign and enhanced the profile of Railfuture. But most of all he has achieved SUCCESS with the Ashington Blythe and Tyne Line (now the Northumberland Line).” See SENRUG’s Press Release here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.