## SENRUG COMMITTEE 2021-22

The committee and office holders were agreed at the SENRUG AGM on Tuesday 29<sup>th</sup> June 2021 as follows:

Dennis Fancett*	Chair
Andrew Carmichael	Deputy Chair
Ronald Hunt	Membership Secretary
Adrian King	Treasurer
Dave Shaw*	Newsletter Editor
Ryan Hogg	Social Media Secretary
Reemer Bailey	Committee Member with no specific role
Sally Millner	Committee Member with no specific role
Janet Macleod-Trotter	Committee Member with no specific role
Geoff Stainthorpe	Committee Member with no specific role
Peter Strong *	Committee Member with no specific role
Gordon Summers	Committee Member with no specific role
Trevor Watson *	Committee Member with no specific role

\* Peter Strong works in the rail industry, Dennis Fancett, Dave Shaw and Trevor Watson are committee members for Railfuture North East Branch, Dennis Fancett also acts as Railfuture North East Branch's Press Spokesman and is a member of Railfuture's European Passenger Group.

SENRUG welcomes other members joining its committee. If interested please contact the Chair. It is very unlikely there will be a contested vote and normally anyone who wants to join the committee may do so. The requirements for being a Committee Member are given below.

## **Requirements of Committee Membership**

- 1. You must be a member of SENRUG and support its aims and objectives.
- 2. You must have access to email and a computer which can open and read documents produced in Word or Excel (this is because most of the committee work is done by email correspondence between members).
- 3. You must declare any actual or potential conflict of interests (for instance if you work in the rail industry, hold or are standing for office as an elected representative, or hold office within a Trade Union or political party). Such circumstances will not disqualify you and indeed your experience will be valuable, but we need to be aware so SENRUG as a whole can be transparent and independent. Individual membership of a political party or trade union which does not involve holding a specific position of responsibility does not need to be declared.
- 4. You must consent to your name and any actual or potential conflicts of interest you have declared being included in the list of Committee Members published on the SENRUG website.
- 5. Additionally, the Chair, Deputy Chair and Newsletter Editor must agree to their contact details (eg a phone number) being published on the SENRUG website and other SENRUG literature.

The minutes of SENRUG's 2021 AGM follow on the next page.

## SENRUG AGM 29th June 2021

## 20 attendees present

The Chair's Report, Membership Report, Accounts (for current and previous years, both Independently Examined), Newsletter Editor's Report and Social Media Secretary's Report were all accepted without comment or question.

Ronald Hunt as Membership Secretary urged members to renew pay their subscriptions, noting those that normally paid in person at the AGM had not been able to do so either last year or the current year. Anyone who wasn't sure if their membership was due could contact him at membership@senrug.co.uk to enquire.

Dennis Fancett said there had been no nominations for the committee, other than the existing committee members who had all indicated their willingness to stand again. No further nominations were received during the meeting.

A proposal to re-elect the existing committee en bloc to continue for 2021/22 was: Proposed by Ryan Hogg, Seconded by Dan Nesbitt, Carried by 12 votes for, none against.

A proposal to re-elect Dennis Fancett as Chair was: Proposed by Ronal Hunt, Seconded by Ryan Hogg, Carried by 8 votes for, none against

A proposal to re-elect the existing postholders to continue in their current roles was: Proposed by Dennis Fancett, Seconded by Allison Cosgrove, Carried by 9 votes for, none against.

Ronald Hunt gave some words of thanks and appreciation to Dennis Fancett as Chair

Dennis Fancett thanked all SENRUG Members for their support during the year.

There was a question about how people could support SENRUG's opposition to the proposed May 2022 timetables for the East Coast Main Line. Dennis Fancett suggested people should:

1) Respond to the consultations (closing dates 5<sup>th</sup> August 2021), key points being:

a) LNER: should maintain off-peak calls at Morpeth at approximately the same time as there are now, and retain service levels at Berwick.

b) TPE should continue to run hourly each way north of Newcastle, stopping at Morpeth and additionally at Alnmouth and Berwick

c) Northern should continue to extend trains from Morpeth on to MetroCentre and Hexham, and Carlisle if possible. The stop at Cramlington on the late afternoon train that is to be omitted should be re-instated, and all trains should stop at Manors throughout the day.

2) Contact their MP, (and in Scotland MSP), County Councillor, Town or Parish Councillor expressing their concern, referring them to the SENRUG briefing (at <a href="https://www.senrug.co.uk/blog/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/21-06-ECML-Rail-Consultations-for-May-22-Timetable.pdf">https://www.senrug.co.uk/blog/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/21-06-ECML-Rail-Consultations-for-May-22-Timetable.pdf</a>), and asking them to take action.

There was no further business so the meeting was then closed.